Fidgety Fish and Friends – Ruth Galloway

by Carrie


The children’s picture book series that I love could probably be counted on one hand. I like individual titles, sure, but find that the series of any one animal or person can become old. Not so with Ruth Galloway’s Fidgety Fish series.

Bold, colorful, yet simplistic and childlike, her children’s stories about life on the ocean floor are superb. My two year old son absolutely loves them and so do I! Each book focuses on a different sea creature. From Smiley Shark to Clumsy Crab, to Tickly Octopus to Fidgety himself, each one tells a story and shares a message. That message is consistently: you are unique and special just the way you are. Each sea creature has their own faults, as to looking too scary or being too clumsy. Yet their heart is in the right spot and the other sea creatures eventually come to realize that things aren’t always as they seem.

These books, published by Tiger Tales, are at the top of our list for quality and entertainment. I first discovered Fidgety at the library and wanted to know more. These books are good for youngsters (like my son) who are in the process of identifying sea creatures. They are also good for early elementary aged kids who are learning lessons about compassion for others. If you haven’t looked them up yet – I’d encourage you to do so. We think they are tops!

Carrie comes by her book obsession honestly, having descended from a long line of bibliophiles. She blogs about books regularly at Reading to Know.

Email Author    |    Website About Carrie

View all articles by


This post may contain affiliate links. When you use them, you support this site. Thank you!
See our Disclosure Policy for details.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

Previous post:

Next post: