The Girl Who Was On Fire, Review and Giveaway

by Dawn



                               

If you haven’t read Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games trilogy, a dystopian fiction series that’s technically in the Young Adult literary category but has broken all boundaries to become a sensation among readers well beyond the “young” part of adulthood, then you’re missing out on a contemporary classic in the making. For those of us who have read all three books– especially for those among us who have read them multiple times (ahem)– a newly released book of essays on the themes and ideas put forth in this book is a wholly welcomed addition to our bookshelves.

The Girl Who Was On Fire, edited by Leah Wilson, presents thirteen articulate, thoughtful and serious treatises on the trilogy’s themes and major plot points. Take an informal book club discussion and meld it with a college literature class, and you’ve got this incredible anthology. A variety of contemporary YA authors contribute to the collection, and it’s clear from the start that each and every one of them is passionate and insightful about the content of the trilogy.

The back cover drew me in at once with teasers for some of the essays posed in the form of these four questions:

  • How does the way the Games affect the brain explain Haymitch’s drinking, Annie’s distraction, and Wiress’ speech problems?
  • What does the rebellion have in common with the War on Terror?
  • Why isn’t the answer to “Peeta or Gale?” as interesting as the question itself?
  • What should Panem have learned from the fates of other hedonistic societies throughout history– and what can we?

After I read each of The Hunger Games books, (which I happily reviewed here- The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay), I begged my husband to take the book from my hand and immediately begin reading, for I longed to discuss them with someone. The ideas presented in this series are disturbing and encourage readers to continue thinking long after closing the final page. With this collection, these authors are continuing the discussion, offering their own insightful analyses, and making connections and parallels between the dystopian world Collins imagined and the one in which we currently dwell.

In a serious discussion of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and how it applies to Katniss, her mother and Haymitch, among others in the series, author Blythe Woolston delves into the horrors inflicted upon them by the Capitol, emphasizing the impact that was made from the intense psychological abuse they suffered. In another essay, Sarah Darer Littman compares the world of Panem to that of ours politically, calling attention to the War on Terror and the actions that have been sanctioned in the name of security. The power of love is explored, for when it is connected to community, family and survival, it raises so many more questions than the simple “Team Peeta” or “Team Gale” debate, as Mary Borsellino presents. Reality vs. illusion, community vs. dehumanization, empowerment vs. control– these are all themes that are discussed, and I honestly feel overwhelmed even trying to skim the surface of the incredible content of this deceptively slim volume.

For fans of The Hunger Games series, The Girl Who Was On Fire serves as the perfect reading companion, one that emphasizes the strengths of the novels and pushes the reader to dig even deeper into the material, to continue to ask questions, draw comparisons, and apply the lessons to one’s own life.

It brings me great joy to be able to share this anthology with one of you! We have one copy of The Girl Who Was On Fire for giveaway, simply leave a comment here to be entered. We’ll announce our winner on 4/27.

Dawn loves reading and talking about what she’s read. She was the geek in English class with her hand constantly raised. Now she gets to voice her opinions on everything under the sun on her blog, my thoughts exactly.

Check out our current giveaways. Subscribe to our feed. Follow us @5M4B on Twitter or on Facebook.

Email Author    |    Website About Dawn

When she's not reviewing books, Dawn (and her online alter ego, morninglight mama) can be found blogging at my thoughts exactly and contributing to The DC Moms.

View all articles by


                               

This post may contain affiliate links. When you use them, you support this site. Thank you!
See our Disclosure Policy for details.

{ 34 comments… read them below or add one }

1 Katie April 13, 2011 at 10:08 am

As a too-long graduated English major who longs for serious discussion about literature more often than she gets it these days and a major fan of the Hunger Games trilogy, I would so love this book!

Reply

2 Bin April 13, 2011 at 10:41 am

After your glowing review, I’d love a copy!

Reply

3 Hillary--Mrs.Einstein April 13, 2011 at 12:23 pm

I LOVED this trilogy! I even got my husband to listen to it on audiobook. :) This book sounds fantastic!

Reply

4 Katie Schroeder April 13, 2011 at 1:57 pm

Loved the books, would love to win!

Reply

5 christina April 13, 2011 at 3:25 pm

My oldest read Hunger Games at school (and then introduced me to it). We would both love this book!

Reply

6 Barb April 13, 2011 at 3:28 pm

I read the books on your recommendation. Sounds like this one’s gonna be great too.

Reply

7 Dawn April 13, 2011 at 3:39 pm

It makes me so happy to hear that, Barb!

Reply

8 Barb April 14, 2011 at 12:35 pm

Well, actually by now 2 other family members and several other friends and neighbors have read the books. Mostly because, as you mentioned above, I was desperate to have someone to talk to about the books and the themes and the characters!

My boyfriend and I were just talking about how we should invite over everyone we know who has read the books for dinner and have a sort of one-time book club meeting.

And the very best part has been sharing the books with my high-school-aged son, a very reluctant reader. It’s been simply fantastic to have the opportunity to share these with him, and talk to him about them, and see his excitement.

So thanks again for your very compelling reviews!

Reply

9 Sandra April 13, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Would love to win this! I enjoyed the Hunger Games books!

Reply

10 debbie April 13, 2011 at 6:26 pm

I would love to read it, it sounds really good.
twoofakind12@yahoo.com

Reply

11 Lisa M April 13, 2011 at 8:20 pm

My son has read all of these books and really loved them. this would be a nice addition to the collection.

Reply

12 MotherReader April 13, 2011 at 8:26 pm

Sounds interesting!

Reply

13 Jena April 13, 2011 at 8:59 pm

Huge fan of the books here. Trying to get my 11 year old to read them (but she is hooked on… Jaws!). Would love to add this to our collection.

Reply

14 Linda Kish April 13, 2011 at 10:34 pm

Sounds great. Count me in please.

lkish77123 at gmail dot com

Reply

15 Dawn April 26, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Congrats, Linda! Please email me your mailing info at morninglightmama (at) gmail (dot) com. :)

Reply

16 Some Lucky Dog April 14, 2011 at 2:17 am

I love The Hunger games series! This would be interesting to read.
someluckydog at gmail dot com

Reply

17 Janet April 14, 2011 at 7:16 am

My daughter would love this-thanks!

Reply

18 Amy April 14, 2011 at 7:57 am

I love a good literary discussion and I loved this trilogy, so sign me up!

Reply

19 Anki A. April 14, 2011 at 8:21 am

Yayy! Sounds awesome! Thanks for the great giveaway! :)

Reply

20 Anna April 14, 2011 at 9:51 am

Love the trilogy, am excited for the movie to come out next year. I can’t wait to read the books with my children when they are older. The Girl Who Was On Fire would be a perfect addition to our library. Thanks for sharing your review.

Reply

21 Beth C April 14, 2011 at 10:34 am

I also enjoyed The Hunger Games books and know I would enjoy The Girl Who Was on Fire
pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

Reply

22 riTa April 14, 2011 at 11:50 am

I purchased the Hunger Games for my reluctant-reader 13 yr old grandson, and he got into it and finished a book for the first time! I am very interested in this companion discussion book.

Reply

23 Paty M. April 14, 2011 at 2:28 pm

Loved the trilogy of the Hunger Games. Would love my LA Dept to have this series as part of their reading for Advanced Groups. This would help “sell” the reason for reading such a story that provokes great discussions.

Reply

24 Robyn P. April 15, 2011 at 9:35 am

The HUnger Games haunted me. I couldn’top thinking about it and analyzing it. I would LOVE to read “The Girl who was on Fire.”

Reply

25 Robyn P. April 15, 2011 at 9:36 am

The Hunger Games haunted me. I couldn’t stop thinking about it and analyzing it. I would LOVE to read “The Girl who was on Fire.”

Reply

26 christine April 15, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Pleasea count me in – would love this!

Reply

27 jenna April 15, 2011 at 4:01 pm

Also loved this trilogy. Could whomever wins this please let me borrow their copy? :)

Reply

28 katklaw777 April 16, 2011 at 8:38 am

I soooooooooooooo want to read this one…thanks.

Reply

29 Katy F. April 17, 2011 at 6:49 pm

This sounds really interesting. I’d love to give it a read.

Reply

30 Jamie April 19, 2011 at 12:14 am

I really enjoyed the series. I even got my husband to read it. But I don’t think I could convince my book club to give it a try. This books sounds perfect for me! I will have to keep an eye out for it at the library.

Reply

31 Megan April 22, 2011 at 2:27 pm

I love The Hunger Games and would love this book!
mearley1979 at gmail dot com

Reply

32 Karen Gonyea April 22, 2011 at 10:16 pm

Looks great :)

Reply

33 glykia2001 April 23, 2011 at 5:23 pm

I can’t keep these books on my classroom shelves. These essays sound like great conversation starters and mentor texts for modeling response to literature. Thanks for your review.

Reply

34 leslie January 25, 2012 at 4:53 pm

im the biggest hunger games fan!!!!
i really hope to win!

Reply

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

Previous post:

Next post: